You scream ~ I scream

Hot enough for you? The July heat may be intense but let’s remember in California the hottest month of the year is still coming our way ~ September! Sure the kids go back to school, but we also get our fair share of heat waves and brush fires.

One way I know to cool down is ice cream. People who know me well, know I’m addicted to the stuff! I remember the home-made ice cream of my youth. Lots of cream, ice, rock salt in the bucket and hours of churning the handle. Tiring for sure, but so rewarding. Recently I discovered a wonderful electric ice cream maker from Cuisinart and it was on sale. Sure all the beautiful colors attracted me to the display table and before my husband could protest (“You can buy ice cream at the store!”) we were lugging home this gorgeous blue machine.

I’ve made a couple of batches since then but the best was the cookies and cream concoction I made with my grandson. Here we are:

two of my favorite things - colton and ice cream

Want one? Ice Cream maker, I mean…. All you have to do is subscribe to cinderelliesister and let me know your favorite flavor of ice cream. I will pick (at random) one lucky winner who can select the color of their choice (red, yellow, blue, orange, plum, black, white).

Contest ends July 31 at midnight. I will let you know who the winner is on August 1st.

cinderellie home page: cinderelliesister.com

11 Responses to “You scream ~ I scream”

  1. Tammy Smith Says:

    I so remember all the late nights we would sneek ice cream (the “good” kind hidden in the back of the freezer) after the boys went to bed for the night!!! Loved those summers!!!

  2. Tammy Smith Says:

    Oh yeah my favorite is cookie dough and i like plum!!!

  3. Kristin Ouchi Says:

    My favorite is flavor of ice cream is Mint Chocolate Chip and I like the color Blue. I figured out how to subscribe.

  4. Cheryl Phillips Says:

    My fave is French Silk – Dreyer’s Slow Churned – the creamiest ice cream ever – It’s rich chocolate mocha mousse ice cream, vanilla mousse light ice cream and bittersweet chocolaty chips. French in sophistication, silky in texture and taste. All with 50% less fat and 30% fewer calories than regular ice cream.
    But I don’t think there is anything better than the Fresh Peach made in our old bucket with rock salt and churning, churning, churning as a kid growing up in Van Nuys.

  5. Pearl Says:

    Chocolate Malted Crunch from Thrifty…nuff said… :)

  6. Alethia Says:

    My favorite is mocha cheesecake from the now-closed Melting Moments in Michigan. When I went to school in East Lansing, we would walk from the dorm down to the Grand River strip to indulge in ice cream at our favorite place.

    After I graduated, I went back with my husband. We were there five days and went there twice. He had blue moon ice cream. Californians don’t know what blue moon is, but I think it tastes like maraschino cherries without the cherries. And, it’s bright blue. Austin says it tastes like bubblegum ice cream without the bubblegum. The flavor’s identity is up for debate.

    Now, by far and away, Avila Valley Barn has the best ice cream. They even have oatmeal flavor – it’s delicious with a little bit of bing cherry ice cream. Mmm. http://www.avilavalleybarn.com

  7. Chris Seidenglanz Says:

    I like vanilla bean topped with mounds of hot chocolate!. My family all loves Rocky Road! Always have it in the freezer.

  8. janet boelter Says:

    My fav is rocky road. or any chocolate for that matter… how to subscribe…hum… another matter…

  9. CinderellieSister Says:

    looks like you made it in Janet!

  10. Peggy Says:

    I’m with Pearl. Thrifty choc malted crunch is the best!

  11. Rachel Says:

    Hi Auntie Tricia! my ice cream favorite is strawberry

Leave a Reply

