Why Cinderellie?

Five brothers and three sisters …. Growing up in 1950s suburban Southern California, it would be a real stretch to call us middle class. Dad was a blue collar worker (he installed chain link fences – more on that later) and mom stayed at home either pregnant or raising babies. I’m the third. She had her last one when she was 46 years old.

Since we didn’t have a lot of money or a lot of room in our home, we needed to invent ways to entertain ourselves … for free. So it was with great pleasure that my oldest brother and sisters would sing the “Cinderellie” song to tease me because A) I believed I worked way too hard – washing dishes/changing diapers/cleaning bathrooms etc…. – and B) I knew, just knew I should have been born an only child and a princess.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

