horse pills and health

Annual check-ups are a pain but a good rule of thumb for any Cinderellie. While I’m in fairly good shape, I do have some issues I’ve inherited from my parents that I must take note of. One of them is heart health (my dad died at 63 from a heart attack).

So at a recent check-up my doctor recommended I start taking fish oil tablets. Personally, I like to get my fish oil from real fish – like the salmon my husband brings back from his Alaska trips, but I realize I don’t have an opportunity to eat salmon as much as I should. So I headed to the local Rite-Aid and bought fish oil capsules.

Have you seen the size of these things?!? Yeah, that’s a quarter sitting next to it AND it has a plastic casing. Oh, I tried to swallow it but my throat just wasn’t going for it. Plus, I hear you burp fishy tasting burps all day.

Not one to give in easily, I knew there had to be a better way to ingest these smelly capsules. After tons of experiments, here’s what I came up with.

I’m an oatmeal purist (I like it cooked for 5 minutes and plain with a dab of raw sugar and non-fat milk). I was very afraid I’d ruin the taste if I added anything to it, but in order to take these god-forsaken pills, I had to improvise.

Here’s what you need:

Fish oil (any brand you like or that’s on sale), cinnamon (an excellent heart spice) and a banana. Once the oatmeal has cooked, add a few sprinkles of cinnamon and sliced banana. Cut that oily capsule and squeeze the oil over the goodies. Sprinkle a bit of raw sugar and add your non-fat milk. It took awhile for me to really, really enjoy my new breakfast, but after a week I really don’t even notice the change. In fact, I kind of like it.

Take it from me – an oatmeal purists, it’s pretty good and you are doing good things for your heart.

Leave a Reply

