FB friends?

Social networking. Started by college kids, embraced by more college kids and then moving on to everyone else, including your mother. It’s scary and amazing all at once. I have to admit I was more than leery when I first started getting messages asking me to “friend them.” Once you start, however, it becomes addicting.

You add as many friends as possible and have to really think about adding your kids. I mean, do you really want to know what they are doing in college? I’m sure they weren’t asking to be your friend either. But as time wore on and we got a little more savvy about what we post, the kids were ready to add you to their list and let you into their world … a little.

All of us who Facebook let people into our lives every time we post. It’s amazing how much I’ve learned about my friends including but not limited to: their siblings, where they are having lunch, vacation photos, grandkids, likes and dislikes, political views, charity events, hopes and dreams. I used to think Facebooking would ruin our social lives because we are not talking face-to-face. But I know my friend in Wisconsin doesn’t feel the immediate need to call me on the phone to check up on me. She does …. on Facebook.

I still enjoy dinners with the family, coffee with my friends and vacations with anyone who wants to go. I’m thinking Facebook just adds to that pleasure. Look out though, I’m might just learn how to Tweet!

Leave a Reply

