introducing Alex ….

I’d like to introduce Alex Collins. Alex and I worked together in the dying newspaper biz. He’s a great photographer and now it turns out he’s a pretty good cook too! I’ve been watching Alex post his fabulous dinner concoctions on Facebook and after several emails, Alex has agreed to post some of these great meals on this site for all to enjoy.
He was on vacation for a while. Now he’s back; rested, relaxed and ready to cook. Here’s his first submission:
Our Home Cooking
by Alex Collins
I’m back from Alaska. Of course, I still wish I were there. Despite the cold and rainy weather all week, I had an AMAZING time!! I absolutely LOVED everything about Alaska. The rugged terrain, wildlife, solitude while out in the forest, and so much more.
Sadly, I had to return home… But, to pick myself up and enjoy my day off today, I thought I’d prepare one of my favorite dishes and put a little “Alex” spin on it.

 Orange-Mango Chilled Soba Noodles.

It’s SO GOOD!!! Or, at least I think so. It’s a recipe VERY heavily based on a Susan Feniger recipe. This dish is perfect for these hot summer nights.
Here’s what you need..

1 Package of Soba Noodles (available in Asian section of market)
1/2 Cup Orange Juice
1/2 Cup Mango Nectar
1/4 C Soy Sauce
1/4 C Sugar
2 T Rice Wine Vinegar (seasoned or unseasoned)
2 T Hot Sesame Oil
1/2 C Chopped Scallions divided into 2 1/4 C piles
(Optional) 1 Block of Extra Firm Tofu

Start by cooking noodles according to package directions (boil in water for a few minutes… until tender when you bite into it). Then, once cooked, drain and rinse under cold water until noodles are cold. Remember this is a cold dish. Drain noodles again and place in bowl for storage (I use a large Pyrex dish). Set aside.

In saucepan cook orange juice and mango juice together on medium-high heat until boiling. Reduce to simmer and let cook until it thickens a little (about 15 minutes). You’re really trying to remove the acidic flavor from the juices.

Once slightly thickened, pour combined juices in blender. Add soy sauce, sugar, rice wine vinegar, hot sesame oil, and 1/4 C of the chopped scallions all to the blender. Blend on medium to combine. Then quickly blend on high to break down the scallions further. This doesn’t take more than a few seconds.

Once everything is blended, pour the mixture over the noodles.

Top with remaining scallions for garnish and added flavor.

Chill for as long as you like. The longer you let cool in refrigerator the more the flavors marry.

You can also add tofu that has been drained and chopped at the end. Make sure the tofu is fully drained because if not the water in the tofu will make this dish very bland. Trust me, I learned that the hard way!!

Well, that’s the first dish that I LOVE. My “spin” is by using orange and mango juice. It normally calls for only orange but I like the addition of mango.

http://www.cinderelliesister.com

Leave a Reply

