money cake

Candles spell out the traditional English birt...

Birthday Celebrations

Some of my friends have asked me, “What the heck is a money cake?” Others remember celebrating birthdays at my house and always looking forward to the dessert. Money cake is probably one of the best traditions we’ve have (according to the kids) and it’s always fun to share.

This tradition started with my mom. Not one who could afford birthday presents and gifts for nine kids year round, she was a wiz at cakes. On our birthdays, we dictated what the family would have for dinner and then my mom would have a money cake for us. We were allowed to invited some friends over and everyone had a chance to win some variance of money. In my childhood, we could buy a lot with a dollar so that was always the big win.

I continued (as did most of my sisters) to make money cakes for my boys as they celebrated birthdays. Quarters were great because they liked to play video games. As they grew older, money cakes became a bit more expensive but the boys always got to pick the dinner menu for the night.

Money cake is very easy and it doesn’t have to be pretty because that’s not what is important to kids. Like I said, my mom made fabulous cakes that always represented our interests. For example, I always seem to get cakes that had something to do with The Beatles.ย I’ve tried to make clever cakes over the years. My second son had a Dukes of Hazzard-themed cake. It wasn’t pretty, but I tried.

So here is a step-by-step money cake recipe. Please keep in mind, presentation isn’t everything (my younger sister would disagree), but I’m taking the chance of feeling her wrath by posting this photos.

Like I said – money cake doesn’t have to be pretty or home-made or fancy. Simple cake mixes and ready to go frosting is all you need. And some money…

Depending on the age group, coins and bills need to be clean and wrapped. I boil all the coins. While your cake is baking, you need to start the most annoying part of the process – wrapping the money in cellophane.

Once the money is all wrapped, it’s a matter of making slits in your cooled off cake and frost over. When it comes to selecting the slits, picture how you cut a cake and try (really try) to center the money in the pieces you’ll be handing out later. Sometimes you have to switch it up, but that’s okay because everything will be frosted over.

Now you can decorate with sprinkles, candles and any special message. My sister would die if I showed you what I did with mine, so I’ll leave it to your imagination.

One last birthday tradition in our home – again started because of my mom. My brothers and sisters hated the idea of sending her nine different bouquets of flowers on Mother’s Day. Instead we sent her flowers on our birthday. That way she received beautiful flowers year round.

Stephen (my youngest) brought me flowers yesterday….

2 Responses to “money cake”

  1. Lex Says:

    That was some good money cake ๐Ÿ™‚ Taylor and I gave our winnings ($3) to the birthday boy haha.

  2. Kristin Says:

    I gave Steve my 75 cents. ๐Ÿ™‚ I helped him pick out the flowers too.

Leave a Reply

