sleeping sideways

Cover of "Driving Miss Daisy (Keepcase)"

One of my Top 10 favorites

I am nap taker and I’m not ashamed to admit it. Oh, my friends and family make fun of me, but they know between the hours of 2 and 4 pm not to bother me.

I think naps are a wonderful thing. I must have learned this from my mom who always took afternoon naps (that is when we kids babysat the younger kids. With nine kids, do you blame her?).

Afternoon naps allow you to enjoy two days in one. It’s like starting your day all over again and giving you that extra boost to get through the evening.

I have actually made a science of it – I turn on a show that I’ve seen a million times (must be a cable show with no commercials and not full of action scenes – something like Driving Miss Daisy). If I fall asleep in the middle of the movie, I haven’t missed a thing because I know what happened in the middle. Also when your eyes are getting heavy and you can hear the TV but can’t really see the TV, it doesn’t matter because you know what is happening.

The other thing is I sleep sideways. Yup, I spread myself across sideways on the bed (usually towards the bottom half), belly down with a pillow stuck under my neck and big ol’ head. Sure, sometimes I have to share the bed with my chocolate lab, but eventually he gets tired of my snoring and moves off.

Just so you know I’m an early riser (5 am). I like the quiet mornings, the great first cup of coffee, and the early morning show in the sky. My afternoon naps make up the hours others are sleeping in the morning.

Besides, any professional health care expert will tell you, naps are great for your heart and your soul.

Now if only the corporate world can catch on to this. They would have much happier (and healthier) employees. One of the few advantages of working from home.

Oops it’s 2:00. Got to go….

3 Responses to “sleeping sideways”

  1. Kristin Says:

    I love taking naps! Even if it’s only for 10 to 30 minutes I still take a nap because it helps me get through the rest of the day without being super tired. The only thing I do no like about naps is if I take a long nap for like 2-3 hours I end up staying up really late. Steve hates naps, and Taylor also told us that he hates them too. If Steve takes a nap, after he wakes up he’s really tired and grumpy. For some reason naps for him don’t rejuvenate him like most people, which I think is weird. I always tell him take a nap if I’m driving and he’s tired and he always says no because it will cause him to do what i said above.

    • CinderellieSister Says:

      true – one cannot take a two hour nap. I pick 2-4 pm because I never really know when I can take one. my naps last about an hour. anything else… I’m up all night too! taylor may not like naps, but Adam is a super napper!

  2. Kristin Says:

    http://www.webmd.com/balance/features/the-secret-and-surprising-power-of-naps

Leave a Reply

