8 1/2 inches

pink ribbon

My niece in South Carolina posted a strange message on her Facebook page. It just said “9 inches.” Of course, all of us wondered what she was talking about – and we had some interesting ideas.

So she let us post throughout the day. Turns out she was promoting Breast Cancer Awareness by posting her shoe size. These posts were to continue a trend set some years back when women posted the color of their bras or where they put their purse at night. Some thought the posts were boring, stupid (can’t stand that word) and a waste of time. Others gladly posted just because it was funny, but many were posting to bring awareness to breast cancer.

I have always been torn on this issue. When I read stories of breast cancer survivors, I am genuinely happy for them but I am also sad because my own sister-in-law, so young, with two babies, didn’t survive. Why?

No one should die of breast cancer. There should never be another young mother, like my sister-in-law, who can’t survive.

I will gladly post my shoe size – 8 1/2 inches, but a 9 feels so much better.

Ladies and gentleman – I am waiting to know your size.

4 Responses to “8 1/2 inches”

  1. Crystal Rasmussen Says:

    depends…9 on some days 9 1/2 on others and every once in a while I need a 10

  2. Kristin Says:

    Wow I’m sorry to hear about your sister in law. I think Steve told me the story before and yes it is pretty sad. I’m at risk of getting it too, and many other things, but my grandmother and my aunt both survived breast cancer. My shoe size is 7 1/2

  3. Cathy Says:

    7 1/2 still…. barefoot today, too hot for shoes!

Leave a Reply

