pancakes and cheese? try a McDufs…. a new recipe by Alex

Alex has been sending me some pretty interesting recipes. This one looks fun, quick and easy. A great finger-licking snack when you just can’t eat an entire meal. Give it a try. I’m going to…
This next recipe is an Alex original. It was created one day when I needed a quick meal and made due with what I had in the house. It’s simple, quick, unique, and oh so delicious.
I call them, “McDufs.”
Why McDufs? Well, years ago my brother and cousin affectionately (or maybe not so affectionately) gave me the nickname Dufresne, after the character Andy Dufresne in the Shawshank Redemption. The name stuck and has been shortened to Duf (phonetically Doof).
Anyway, as I was finishing the dish, I happened to think of the McDonalds items and how they are all called Mc … Now, don’t the wrong idea about me. I’m in no way a McDonalds fan. In fact, I HATE McDonalds! I really don’t like any fastfood, other than In-N-Out. But the name of the dish stuck and so I’ve kept it that way.
Here’s what you need:
One package of Potato Pancake Mix (found in Kosher section of Market… Don’t worry, this is by no means Kosher)
1 C of water (as instructed on the Potato Pancake Box)
1 Large Egg (as instructed on the Potato Pancake Box)
Rotisserie Chicken
Strawberry Preserves
Cheddar Cheese
Sriracha (Optional)
Prepare Potato Pancake Mix as directed on package … (Beat one egg in mixing bowl with fork. Add in 1 C cold water. Add Potato Pancake Mix and combine well. Let stand for 5-10 minutes to allow mixture to thicken).
Tear Chicken into smaller bite sized pieces or thin strips.
Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add a thin layer of oil to fry potato pancakes (I use olive oil).
Once the oil is hot, place a spoonful of potato pancake mix into the oil and spread out slightly to make a pancake about 2 inches in diameter. Let cook under golden brown on bottom. Once browned, flip and cook until this side is golden browned too. Remove from pan and place on paper towel and pat dry to remove excess oil.
Take one pancake and place a slice of cheddar cheese on the pancake. Top with a few pieces of chicken (it’s up to your appetite to decide how much). Spoon on some strawberry preserves. And, if you like it a little spicy like me, squirt a little bit of Sriracha to add another layer of flavor and some heat.
Eat with your hands!! Fold it up like a little taco if things get a little out of hand and you can’t balance the toppings.
These sound a little strange, but I’m telling you they are GREAT!! And, they can be made in as little as 10 minutes or so. Great for a quick bite or a night when you don’t have the energy to make a full meal. Just a few of these (maybe 3 or 4, depending on size) and you’ll be set!
Enjoy!!
Leave a Reply

