on the table….

The Seattle Location of Sur La Table.

Seattle store

September means the Fall season is right around the corner. Of course, in Southern California we normally experience some pretty hot days  (and on this first day of September, some rock and rolling from a 4.3 earthquake!). But have hope – cooler days are ahead and soon we can head back into the kitchen to fine-tune our culinary skills.

If you are like me (and I know many of you are), shopping at gourmet kitchen stores, like Williams Sonoma, is a lot of fun. These are not your mother’s kitchen gadgets. These are fun, colorful and sparkly. We probably don’t need much of what they sell, but we can’t resist and it’s always nice to have one or two great pieces.

Which brings me to this month’s giveaway. I occasionally receive catalogs from Sur La Table, another great gourmet kitchen store. In fact, this little French-sounding store which translates to “on the table” is the second largest shop of its kind (yup, Wm Sonoma comes in first).

Founded in 1972 by Shirley Collins in Seattle’s Pike Place Market, the store was bought by the Behnke Family some twenty years later and they opened a second location in Berkeley, California. Selling gourmet cooking utensils, appliances, food and cookbooks, the Behnke family and a private equity firm has expanded Sur La Table to include cooking classes in some of their 80+ stores.

I’m a big crock pot person so I’m naturally attracted to cast iron cookware for the same reason – you can simmer in them for long periods of time and the food will melt in your mouth. Sur La Table offers Staub cookware that is to die for. Prized by top chefs for its superior heat distribution, durability and oven-to-table beauty, Staub is beautiful. Made in France, Staub cast iron is made from a sand mold and takes an entire day just to create one piece. It is now offered in two new colors (I have the grey but there is also a stunning blue).

So I waited for a little cooler weather and I finally tried mine out. I used a recipe that came with the cookware (4 season chicken):

Here’s the recipe (I tweaked a little):

4 boneless chicken breasts

olive oil

garlic cloves (as many as you like)

soy sauce (about 1/4 cup)

3 T honey

Mrs. Dash seasoning

Pour some olive oil in pan to coat and sauté chopped garlic. Brown chicken on both sides and

season with Mrs. Dash. Pour the honey on the chicken and turn so the chicken

is coated.

Add soy sauce and salt and pepper (remember – soy sauce has salt so taste as you go.

Place lid and simmer for 25 minutes. It’s that easy. Crazy, huh? You don’t have to worry about the chicken drying out because the cast iron keeps the juices in the food.

While the chicken was simmering, I cut up some Yukon Gold potatoes, boiled and mashed them. I also made a beautiful Pear salad, cut a loaf of Asiago bread and opened a bottle of Chardonnay.

I really like my black fish plates.

(My iPhone doesn’t really do justice to the colors in my kitchen or my dish, does it?)

HERE’S THE GIVEAWAY PART

What is your favorite Fall recipe? Drop me a line and let me know. You will automatically be in the running for the Staub 8 1/2 qt. cookware. You can even choose between the grey and blue colors.

The contest will end of Sept. 13 at midnight.

5 Responses to “on the table….”

  1. Peggy Rogers Richan Says:

    I want a Staub! I think the blue one is purty!

  2. Brenna McNeil Says:

    I want a Staub too! I would love the blue one as blue IS my favorite color!!!

  3. Peggy Says:

    my favorite fall meal is homemade sirloin chili with corn bread……YUM!

Leave a Reply

