memo to 20/20, Primetime and Dateline

Dateline NBC

I like to watch true murder mysteries and there are plenty of those types of shows on TV. These shows come on around 9 or 10 p.m. and usually I’m a little tired and just want to veg at that time of night,  so I have a couple to choose from. The top three are 20/20, Primetime and Dateline. (My hairdresser just told me about another, “Snap” that I need to check into one of these days.)

Last night I got hooked on a story about a Silicon Valley family who traveled to Oregon for Thanksgiving and made the wrong turn on the way home. They ended up spending nine days trapped in their mini van on a deserted forest trail while it snowed and bears hovered. Did they make it out alive? How did they survive in that mini-van? (Their two daughters, btw, were a 4-year-old and a baby). Weren’t their family and friends wondering where they were?

It would take two hours to find out those answers.

Which leads me to my memo to 20/20, Primetime and Dateline: Why the heck does it take so long to tell us these stories?

The answer: There are at least 100 commercials to watch and every time we come back from these commercial breaks, the host (and the Dateline guy is the worse) has to recap the crime scene, show us the same photos, tell us a little about the town this is all taking place in AND always ask the question: “Will they ever be found?” “Will the murderer ever be discovered?”

Yes, eventually we will find the answers to these questions but it will take the entire evening. And by then, I really want to know!

So I have one thing to say – Thank God for TiVo or whatever recording device you may have hooked up to your TVs. Of course, I can say I remember when you physically had to push the play and record button on your VCR and someone needed to be home at that precise time with a clean tape to record it for you. Now, because of geniuses in Silicon Valley (like the guy who is lost in his mini van) you just have to push the red button on your remote control. Dang… this is easy.

So I did. I pushed it about 3/4s of the way through this story because today, during my lunch break, I’m going to finish watching this story and find out just what happened to the Silicon Valley family.

2 Responses to “memo to 20/20, Primetime and Dateline”

  1. susan Says:

    or you can just watch the last 10 minutes of the show. as you said, they always recap everything anyhow.

  2. CinderellieSister Says:

    yeah, you’re probably right. just needed to vent 🙂
    btw – the father died and the girls and wife survived…

Leave a Reply

