end of the innocence

Cover of "Eagles: Farewell 1 Tour - Live ...

On of the many farewell tours of the Eagles

Just saw Don Henley at the Santa Barbara Bowl. Two things about Henley: he is, of course, a founding member of the Eagles and while he has always been the activist, in his later years he has become quite the complainer.

This time around he wasn’t with the Eagles but a young group of musicians and back-up singers who complimented his songs to a tee. I’m used to Don Henley going off on how bad things are now – global warming, big corporations, tabloid media, and the lack of talent in the music business these days. But this Don Henley was a little more mellow. Sure he complained about Rupert Murdock and Dallas, Texas where he now lives (the global warming capital of the world, he called it), but he had some great stories from the 70s and 80s that most of the Boomers in the audience could relate to and laugh at.

I think what really resonated with me though was his ballads. All of the sudden they are taking on a new meaning as Boomers enter their sixties – lost love, falling out of love, lying about love, missing someone and desperation. Many of the lyrics touched me deeply and I felt myself welling up inside.

I can’t remember when I lost my innocence. Was it the break-up of my first true love, my first paycheck with all the deductions, my friends moving on without me, the loss of some of my high school friends, the death of my parents? Like I said, I’m not sure, but I also realize that everyday is a new lesson and with each one I get stronger. And smarter. And a little more forgiving.

We’ll always be blamed for raising our kids wrong, making some bad financial decisions, taking a path less traveled or speaking out of turn during a heated conversation. These moments stay with you and are occasionally brought to the surface. Some I regret, but all I can say is I did my best.

I cherish the time I spend with my kids, my grandson, my sisters, my friends and my husband. Everything and everybody else I meet and interact with is cake. Whatever weight we are carrying with us, we Boomers are learning it’s all about letting go and moving on. And forgiveness.

Don Henley’s “End of the Innocence” is full of lyrics of mistrust and bad deeds.¬†These days I think I’m more partial to “Heart of the Matter.”

Yeah, I like these lyrics.

I've been tryin' to get down to the Heart of the Matter
But everything changes
And my friends seem to scatter
But I think it's about forgiveness
Forgiveness
Even if, even if you don't love me anymore
The Heart of the Matter - Don Henley
One Response to “end of the innocence”

  1. susan Says:

    Really good!

Leave a Reply

