all hail the Queen…

Queen Mary 2 02 KMJ

Queen Mary 2

Just got back from Quebec. That’s on the east coast and I call west coast home, so it was a long journey. It was cold, and windy, and raining just about the entire week I was there. I woke up this morning in sunny California and it was… yup, raining. But it’s not cold or windy which makes our rain kind of beautiful.

But I loved this old French town, weather and all, and I learned a lot about Quebec. French is the official language but the people there are loyal to the Crown (their money carries photos of the Queen). There is the old section where my friend and I stayed that was right up against the St. Lawrence River. It was a great view watching all the cruise ships come and go except when the Queen Mary 2 showed it. There went our view. It was like having a building move in. She is HUGE!

A few facts about the QM2: She is 113 feet longer than the original Queen Mary and more than twice as long as the Washington Monument is tall (550 feet). The QM2 is 147 feet longer than the Eiffel Tower is tall (984 feet) and more than 3 1/2 times as long as Big Ben is high (310 feet). She is as long as 41 double-decker London buses and her whistle is audible for 10 miles.

More than 2,600 people were on board and they were headed to town to shop and eat and take photographs. We ran in to many of them and they all had great things to say about the ship. A quick look at their website and I’m impressed.

I’ve been to the original Queen Mary now docked in Long Beach. In fact, I was there the day QM2 came to pay her respects to the Queen Mary. The old one is quaint and  reminds me of the Titanic.  I’m not much of a cruise person but I’m thinking … it might be time to book a trip on the new one.

 

 

 

2 Responses to “all hail the Queen…”

  1. susan Says:

    Is that your pic of the QE 2? Quite impressive shot. Good story, and I’m glad you like the CA rain.

    • CinderellieSister Says:

      naw… I never got a good shot with my iPhone (QM2). I do like the rain (it was warmer), but the wind is here and I do not like it. Hope your flight was good. I’m going to write about my fear of flying (do you remember my flight number was 999. what would happen if the plane suddenly flipped? then what would my flight number be? ….)

Leave a Reply

