what do you want to be when you grow up?

"Therefore what God has joined together, ...

I like this married/pregnant photo!

My sister once told me that we are born with the tools we need to achieve our success in life. That is, by the time we are 10 or 12 years old, we know what we want to be or what our passion is – a doctor, a teacher, a fireman, the president, whatever. What we do after 10 just adds to the education and experience we need to accomplish these goals.

Most of us, however, never reach that pinnacle.  Many things get in our way – college (or lack of), marriage and kids, immediate need for money, health issues and just life. Sometimes we get real close and by pursuing that dream, find another that suits us just fine.

As I zoom towards the big 6-0, I’ve spent some time wondering what I should be doing. It seems lately I hear a lot about people my age either dying or retiring. Neither seem to be a good choice for me. So I took my sister’s advice and looked back at what I wanted to be at 10 or 12.

Here’s my list (in no particular order):

*a nun (remember, I went to parochial school).

*a teacher (probably a nun/teacher)

*a politician (again, parochial school – Catholic/Kennedy)

*a social worker (from a big family/no money)

*a writer (wrote a play in 5th grade because I didn’t like the one the class was supposed to do)

I’m not sure what all these add up to, but the other piece of advice my sister gave me was to look back and see what I’ve really accomplished over the past years. Maybe I did reach that passion, that dream, and it’s time to have another.

This is my list (in no particular order and off the top of my head):

*Married a good guy and raised four kids

*Was PTA president, Site Council chair, Boy Scout leader

*Started a non-profit with a friend to restore an old building

*Joined several non-profit boards

*Wrote for a local newspaper

Did I accomplish my goals? Is there something in there that ties these all together?

Most women I know are facing this same challenge. I think because we nurture our families, our communities, and help those who need us, these jobs are never finished and we are always looking (or it finds us) for the next one. None of the things I did above (with the exception of the newspaper job) paid me and I found I liked getting paid.

So what’s the answer? Do we just retire, volunteer at the hospital/schools, and travel. If we are financially set, it seems to be the way to go. It sounds fun but, and this is just me talking, does it sound challenging?

The hard question is are we finished yet? The answer is probably never. Sometimes we are so wrapped up in the today we never take a minute to let our dreams take hold.

Did we do that ONE thing we really wanted to when we were 10 or are we just to darned scared or lazy to ask that question?

My friend says I am a seeker. I like that and I do like a good challenge. My sister thinks that if I ride a camel in Morocco, that will cover the challenging part.

I might be. It’s something I should think about….

2 Responses to “what do you want to be when you grow up?”

  1. susan Says:

    I rode a camel from a caravan in Turkey. While it was interesting, I don’t know if I’d describe it as challenging. But living in Turkey was. Do you want to live in Morocco?

Leave a Reply

