It’s a Wonderful Life… but I want more!

Screenshot of Jimmy Stewart and Donna Reed in ...

An angel got his wings!

Set the DVRs – the holiday movies are upon us! I have to say I’m a sucker for all these movies and when I’m wrapping gifts, I love to put on a little “It’s a Wonderful Life” to get me in the spirit.

My favorite by far is “The Bishop’s Wife” starring the beautiful Loretta Young, gorgeous Cary Grant, and the ever-great David Niven. Not many people have seen this movie so I liked to give it out to my friends for Christmas. There was a remake sometime back (“The Preacher’s Wife“) starring Whitney Houston, Courtney Vance (he’s married to Angela Basset btw), and Denzel Washington. Filmed during Whitney’s glory days, it was a pretty good movie (but NOT as good as the original).

New movies are sneaking onto my list, however, starting with “Family Man” and “Elf (Merry Christmas! What’s your favorite color?”). I’m sure there is more but I can’t think of them at the moment.

But I want to hear from you. Send me your list of favorite holiday films and enter into my contest. Winner will receive a packet of holiday DVDs to play all through your gift wrapping moments.

Deadline is next Monday (12/5). I’m looking for one I totally forgot and trust me, “The Bishop’s Wife” will be part of the package.

3 Responses to “It’s a Wonderful Life… but I want more!”

  1. Cheryl Phillips Says:

    Your list has to include “Christmas Vacation” right? I still laugh – every year, and who can ever forget Ralphie in “The Christmas Story.”

  2. Susan Says:

    Okay. The Bishop’s Wife is definitely one of my all time favorites, with the original cast. I’m a closet Cary Grant fanatic. One Magic Christmas with Mary Steenberger is a family favorite. Hard to find but a real Christmas movie. One of my new favorites is called Holiday (I think) with Jack Black and a bunch of others and also love actually, which some people hate but I have to watch at least once a Christmas.

  3. Pearl Says:

    There are so many on my list and I can’t pick a favorite. But here are a few and I know, Patti, you definitely know of one of my faves: (and it’s NOT the Sound of Music I’m talking about)… 🙂

    Sound of Music
    The Bells of St. Mary’s
    Home Alone 1 and 2 (both great, but 2 had a better message)
    The Family Man
    Love, Actually
    And…drum roll please…
    About a Boy… 🙂 (You remember this Patti?).

Leave a Reply

