Take a Moment for Yourself

Downtown Ojai

downtown Ojai

December can be a stressful month. It is super important that while you are busy thinking of others (“what will she really like for Christmas”) that you take a moment for yourself. You can zone out and watch re-runs of Law and Order all afternoon or you can sit in a quiet corner and read a book, but one of the best ways I know is by scheduling a massage.

My favorite place, by far, is a nice little drive down Highway 101 to the town of Ojai. Not only is the drive relaxing with its cool ocean view but the town of Ojai is pretty quant. The Ojai Valley Inn and Spa is smack dab in the middle of town. With a beautiful golf course, several tennis courts and large eucalyptus trees, the Inn specializes in a relaxing atmosphere with warm and comfortable rooms, an artist cottage, restaurants and, of course, the spa.

Recently remodeled, the spa offers the typical variety of services. I like to arrive early, get my locker and comfy robe and head to the stream room. Not only does it open my pores but I really feel as though I’m sweating out all my toxins. After, I head upstairs to the massage rooms where a cozy fireplace and a variety of teas and cucumber-flavored water awaits.

I had several different types of massages – hot stones (love ’em!), couples massage (giggled all they way through that) and even a “scrub the entire body  with sugar, oil and warm water” massage (pretty much loved that too!), but the gentle and most relaxing is your Swedish massage. Each masseuse does it a little different but as long as they hit the feet and head, I’m pretty happy.

It’s good for my body to keep that oil on me as long as possible, so I always make sure I wear some cottony-type shirt or dress that is easily washed. Of course, if I spend the night at the Inn, I can always order up some room service, turn on Law and Order and just waller in my oil.

Come to think of it …. this is probably a perfect gift for that sister-in-law that needs to take a moment for herself. I’m not big on gift certificates (I forget to use them) so I just might have to take her there myself.

3 Responses to “Take a Moment for Yourself”

  1. Carol Rock Says:

    what about your editor/writing coach? I can be needy!

  2. CinderellieSister Says:

    hmmm… I think we need to plan a big 6-0 celebration at Ojai. Girls only. Whatcha’ think?

  3. susan Says:

    next time I’m in CA we’re there!

Leave a Reply

