Top Movie 2012

Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close (film)

OMG - What Movie is Taking Home Gold?

The Oscar goes to ….. by Cheryl Phillips

The Artist, The Descendants, 
Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, The Help, 
Hugo, 
Midnight in Paris,
Moneyball, The Tree of Life, War Horse.

With Hugo and The Artist leading the nominations with 11 and 10 respectively, I feel comfortable saying that these two will probably split the technical awards. We will see them walk away with Art Direction, Cinematography, Film Editing, Sound and most likely Best Director. Both of these films are what movies are all about – pure entertainment – a visual delight. But will either take the big prize???

So far The Descendants, The Help and The Artist have each picked up a win at the other award shows, so definitely these three seem to be the front-runners. A recommendation on The Tree of Life – Don’t bother. When every reviewer around writes, “What the hell was that all about?” it’s pretty much a given that you might want to skip this one. Here is a sentence from a review on Indiewire.com: “The repeated shots of trees, water, clouds, sky and figures haloed or backlit by intense, almost heavenly light would seem to indicate that, yes, there is a God, but uncertainty permeates the entire story, if indeed there is a story – and this, too, was the subject of debate.”

What???? I think this is the new generation’s 2001: A Space Odyssey. You may have needed to take drugs to appreciate it. I confess I did not see War Horse. I am not a big fan of Steven Spielbergʼs melodramatic films than run 2 and a half hours long. I tried to force myself to go, but the more I heard from friends that did go, I wasnʼt willing to give up the time. Donʼt think this has a chance of taking home the oscar gold.

Midnight in Paris might walk away with Best Original Screenplay for Woody Allen, but this will not win the Best Picture award. It was one of my favorite movies last year and I recommend it to all who may have missed it at the theater. Did it even come to the SCV?

The final two: Moneyball and Extremely Loud.……..were both exceptional films. Moneyball was a fascinating story about baseball that wasnʼt really about the game, and I saw Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close twice in the past few weeks just so I could share this heartfelt movie with more friends.

The envelope, please……… I have to go with The Artist for the Best Picture, but deep down in my gut I can see The Help surprising us all. Weʼll see.

I want to thank Cheryl for her review of the Oscars. Cheryl has amazing insight into the movies and now I find she has some pretty amazing history! btw Cheryl, my pick for top movie – Hugo (which I didn’t see but the Academy loves Scorsese). And I’ll bet 10 cents.

Tags: , ,

4 Responses to “Top Movie 2012”

  1. Cheryl Phillips Says:

    You may be right Patti- They are cleaning up on the technical awards.

  2. Cheryl Phillips Says:

    I’m doing great so far. I’ve gotten. 9 out of 10 so far

  3. Patti Rasmussen Says:

    big money 🙂
    I owe you a dime….

  4. Cheryl Phillips Says:

    And I’m going to remember that next time I see you!

Leave a Reply

